University of Leicester Medical School

December 3, 2013

Article by Global Pre-Meds
Hospital doctor shadowing & global health experience programs.

See current opportunities

The University of Leicester is a leading university in the UK. Named ‘THE University of the Year’ in the year 2008, the University of Leicester has obtained some of the highest scores over the years. The campus is very compact and located a mile south of the city centre, adjacent to Wyggeston and Victoria Park and Queen Elizaebeth I College.  The site on which the university stands was donated by Thomas Fielding Johnson, a local textile manufacturer who wished to create a living memorial for those who had lost their lives in the First World War. This is reflected in the motto that the University has adopted ‘Ut Vitam Habeant’. This can be translated to ‘so that they may have life’.

The medical school of the University of Leicester was ranked 7th among the top ten in the Guardian University Guide of 2010. The school’s 5-year curriculum has been commended on several counts by several independent agencies and authorities. It offers medical students an unparalleled learning environment where they develop the knowledge, experience and skills that are necessary to practise medicine today.

On placement in Africa Medical School Curriculum

The MBChB qualification is the same as the MBBS or the ‘Bachelor of Medicine/Bachelor of Surgery’ degree The ‘Ch’ is derived from the Latin word “Chirurgia”, which translates to surgery. There is no difference between earning a MBBS degree or an MBChB degree

The school offers two routes to an MBChB both of which offer comprehensive, integrated curriculums supplemented by outstanding academic facilities and clinical opportunities.

The 5-year programme accepts students who have obtained A-levels or equivalent and the 4-year accelerated programme is designed for graduates who have considerable experience working in any type of caring role. The 4-year programme is designed to be suitable for a wide range of graduates. It offers students a rapid route to medical qualification while still ensuring a good understanding of human structure and function.

The curriculum of both programmes, the 5-year and the 4-year programme, is divided into two distinct phases where Phase 1 acts as an introduction and a preparatory course for Phase II. The only difference between the two programmes is that Phase 1 lasts 5 semesters in the 5 year programme but it is fast tracked in the 4 year programme where it only lasts only 3 semesters. There is no difference in the two programmes in Phase II. During this phase, students form a single cohort and study the full range of clinical subjects relevant to medical school.

The 4-year and the 5-year curricula have been approved by the Education Committee of the General Medical Council and provide students with the clinical competence to work as Foundation doctors. Students who enrol with either of the programmes will graduate with an MBChB degree from the University of Leicester medical school and are eligible for provisional registration as a doctor subject to taking the licensing test that qualifies them to practice.