Take A Closer Look At Surgical Specialties- Part Two

June 10, 2014

Article by Global Pre-Meds
Hospital doctor shadowing & global health experience programs.

Click here for 2021 shadowing opportunities

Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery

An otolaryngologist, or a head and neck surgeon, provides medical and surgical care for patients suffering from disorders and diseases that affect the ears, nose, throat, the upper alimentary and respiratory systems, and related structures of the head and neck. As an otolaryngologist, you would also have skills and knowledge in audiology and speech-language pathology, neurology, endocrinology, allergies and the chemical senses, as all of these relate to the head and neck. These specialists perform surgeries on the head, face and neck. Fundamental areas of expertise for otolaryngologists include head and neck oncology, treatment of disorders in hearing and speech and reconstructive procedures.

Specialty certification in otolaryngology includes:

– Paediatric Otolaryngology: A paediatric otolaryngologist has completed specialty training in the management of infants and children with congenital or acquired disorders of the head and neck, ear, nose and paranasal sinuses.

– Neurotology: A neurotologist focuses on treating patients with diseases of the ear and temporal bone, including hearing and balance disorders.

– Plastic Surgery within the head and neck: Otolaryngologists who are certified in plastic surgery undergo additional training in cosmetic and reconstructive procedures within the head, face and neck. This includes management of maxillofacial trauma, head and neck oncology, neural surgery and soft tissue repair.

In the middle of complex surgery! Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Obstetrician/gynaecologists specialise in providing medical and surgical care to female patients. This speciality focuses on the female reproductive system. Responsibilities include managing the care of pregnant women, performing surgical procedures, delivering babies, and providing primary health care, gynaecologic care and oncology care for women.

Specialty certification in obstetrics and gynaecology includes:

– Gynaecology Oncology: To practice gynaecology oncology, a certified OB/GYN has to undergo an additional three to four years of specialised training, including special surgical training, in the treatment and management of gynaecologic cancers or cancers that are unique to women. As a gynaecology oncologist, you would be responsible for providing comprehensive management of women suffering from precancerous and cancerous conditions of the female reproductive system. Expertise in chemotherapy, surgery and radiation therapy is necessary in this specialty as they support continuity of care of the gynaecologic cancer patient.

– Maternal Foetal Medicine: A certified OB/GYN who specialises in maternal foetal medicine cares for patients with complications in pregnancy. This specialist is required to have advanced knowledge of the medical, obstetrical and surgical complications of pregnancy and their effect on both the mother and the foetus. Expertise in the latest diagnostic techniques, the use of sonography in pregnancy and treatments for women with complicated pregnancies, are all fundamental skills required in this specialty.

– Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility: A certified OB/GYN who specialises in reproductive endocrinology and infertility manages patients with complex problems related to reproductive medicine. These could include infertility, contraception, in vitro fertilization, endometriosis, assisted reproductive technology, reproductive surgery, menopause, and other reproductive disorders.

– Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery: Certified OB/GYNs in this specialty undergo additional training in the management of the female bladder and pelvic floor. These specialists have expert knowledge in female urinary incontinence, advanced vaginal and laparoscopic surgery and pelvic organ prolapse.